Driven by a passion for automobiles, Peugeot has always nourished the spirit of competition.
In the early days of motor sport and to this day, its many victories play a vital role in the commercial success of its vehicles.


Peugeot wins the world’s first timed race


During the Paris-Bordeaux-Paris rally, Peugeot’s Type 7 was crowned the winner, with all three participating Peugeots ranked in the first four places.

Michelin also claimed a part of this victory by having equipped the Peugeot cars with the first-ever inflatable tyres.


The L76 wins the Dieppe and Indianapolis Grand Prix


The revolutionary L76 series (and its variations) won the 1912-1913 French Grand Prix and Indianapolis 500, USA ones in 1913, 1916 and 1919.


Victory for the 402 Darl’mat at Le Mans


The 302 and 402 Darl’mat are distinguished in the Le Mans 24 Hours Race. In 1938, the De Cortanze-Contet team finished fifth overall and first in the 2L category.


Victory for the 404 in the East African Safari Rally


In the East African Safari Rally, the Peugeot 404 won first place overall five times and four other firsts in its category (1963, 1966, 1967 and 1968).


5 victories for the 504 hatchback


The Peugeot 504 hatchback and the coupé 504 V6 won the Bandama Rally and the Moroccan Rally twice (1975 and 1976) as well as the Safari Rally and Rallye Côte d'Ivoire in 1978.


The 205 T16 is world rally champion.


With Jean Todt as team manager, the 205 Turbo 16 showed its breath-taking velocity, making a string of wins (constructor and driver world champions) and became a Peugeot legend.


The 205 T16 wins the Paris-Dakar twice


The Peugeot 205 T16 won the Paris-Dakar twice in the lates 1980's.

Its successes inspired the general public and 205 sales soared as a result, helping Peugeot ride the economic storm.


The 405 T16 sets a new record


In the wake of two victories and new records at the Pike Peak Rally, the 405 T16, piloted by Ari Vatanen, won both the 1989 and 1990 Paris-Dakar.


The 905 devours the track


The Peugeot 905 earned three victories in 1990 and five in 1992, including the Le Mans 24 Hours and became the world champion.

1993 marked a year of success with a historic triple win in Le Mans for the 905, which earned three places on the podium.


908 First in Spa (Belgium) and Road Atlanta (USA)


The Peugeot 908 Turbo Diesel PF exceled in endurance races, gaining first place in Spa, Belgium and Road Atlanta, USA, and coming second in 2007 and 2008 at the Le Mans 24 Hours.


The 908 wins Le Mans


The Peugeot 908 achieved a double win in 2009, and is ranked second, third, fourth and fifth in 2011, and also won the Le Mans Series.


Peugeot signs a new record at Pikes Peak

Peugeot shattered the Pikes Peak record with the 208 T16 Pikes Peak and Sébastien Loeb, nine-times WRC champion.

Loeb achieved a historical time of 8:13.878 - as yet unequalled.


Peugeot make their comeback at the Dakar

Following a first race in South America for the Dakar, Stéphane Peterhansel and Cyril Despres achieved a 1-2 finish in their Peugeot 2008 DKR in the China Silk Road Rally.


208 WRX, World Rallycross Champion


Team Hansen-Peugeot become the FIA World RX team champions with the impressive Peugeot 208 WRX.


2008 DKR on the path towards more victories

Only one year after their return to Rally Raid, Peugeot won the Dakar Rally with the most successful ever team in this event, Peterhansel/Cottret.

Just 6 months later, their teammates Despres/Castera won the Silk Way Rally between Moscow and Beijing.


Sébastien Loeb returns to Peugeot

After a remarkable debut in the Dakar with Team Peugeot Total (4 stage wins), Sébastien LOEB joined Team Hansen-Peugeot in Rallycross the same year.

Peugeot became vice-world constructor’s champion in the 208 WRX.


Year of the 3008

2017 saw a 1-2-3 podium finish for Peugeot in the Dakar for

  • Stéphane Peterhansel (First)
  • Sébastien Loeb (Second) 
  • Cyril Despres (Third)

all driving the imposing 3008 DKR.

The same year, the Peugeot 3008 SUV production model was named Car of the Year.